National Honor Societies

                                     UNH Honor Societies

 

             Discipline                               Name                      Faculty/Staff Advisor             Advisor Email

 Athletics

Chi Alpha Sigma

Joanne Maldari

 joanne.maldari@unh.edu

 Band

Kappa Kappa Psi

Casey Goodwin

 casey.goodwin@unh.edu

 Biological Sciences

Phi Sigma

Dr. Estelle Hrabak

 estelle.hrabak@unh.edu

 Business

Beta Gamma Sigma

Ashlyn True

 ashlyn.true@unh.edu

 Campus-Wide

Golden Key

Megan Brabec, Sylvia Foster

 megan.brabec@unh.edu  sylvia.foster@unh.edu

 Classics

Eta Sigma Phi

Dr. Richard Clairmont, Dr. R. Scott Smith

 richard.clairmont@unh.edu scott.smith@unh.edu

 Communications

Lambda Pi Eta

Dr. Nora Draper

 nora.draper@unh.edu

 Computer Science

Upsilon Pi Epsilon

Dr. Radim Bartos

 rbartos@cs.unh.edu

 Economics

Omicron Delta Epsilon

Dr. Marc Herold

 marc.herold@unh.edu

 Engineering

Tau Beta Pi

Dr. Michael Carter (Electrical & Computer); Dr. Erin Bell (Civil & Environmental); Dr. Barry Fussell (Mechanical)

 mike.carter@unh.edu; erin.bell@unh.edubarry.fussell@unh.edu

 Engineering

UNH Society of Women Engineers

Dr. May-Win Thein

 may-win.thein@unh.edu

 English

Sigma Tau Delta

Carla Cannizzaro

 carla.c@unh.edu

 Fraternity/Sorority

Order of Omega

Mary Anne Lustgraaf

 maryanne.lustgraaf@unh.edu

 Health Pre-Profession

Alpha Epsilon Delta

Dr. Mary K. Lockwood

 mkkl@unh.edu (only 2015-16)

 History

Phi Alpha Theta

Dr. Cathy Frierson

 cathy.frierson@unh.edu

 Hospitality and                Tourism

Eta Sigma Delta

Dr. Dan Innis

 dan.innis@unh.edu

 Justice Studies

Alpha Phi Sigma

Dr. Ellen Cohn

 ellen.cohn@unh.edu

 Liberal Arts

Phi Beta Kappa

Dr. Susan Siggelakis

 susan.siggelakis@unh.edu

 Mathematics

Pi Mu Epsilon

Ellen O'Keefe

 emo@cisunix.unh.edu

 Natural Resources

Xi Sigma Pi

Dr. Mark Ducey

 mark.ducey@unh.edu

 Nursing

Sigma Theta Tau

Dr. Joyce Cappiello

 joyce.cappiello@unh.edu

 Political Science

Pi Sigma Alpha

Dr. Susan Siggelakis

 susan.siggelakis@unh.edu

 Psychology

Psi Chi

Dr. Carolyn Mebert

 cjm@cisunix.unh.edu

 Social Work

Phi Alpha

Gretchen Bean

 gretchen.bean@unh.edu

 Sociology

Alpha Kappa Delta

Dr. Thomas G. Safford

 Tom.Safford@unh.edu

 

The University of New Hampshire has a long and strong/valued tradition of recognizing outstanding student academic achievement through election to a variety of honor societies.  Some of these national societies recognize performance in any academic field while others are limited to specific disciplines. 

Honor societies are most prevalent in colleges and universities.  Based on varying criteria of high academic achievement and leadership, students are invited to join most commonly in their junior or senior year.  Although initiated into the campus chapter, students become members of the national society for life.