Governing Bodies

Governing Bodies


The Center for International Education and Global Engagement (CIEGE) supports the goals of the current UNH strategic plan and that of the 10/24/11 Report to the President on Internationalizing UNH through the following areas of endeavor:

CIEGE hosts the following committees, which meet several times each semester to facilitate campus-wide engagement and decision-taking on policy and program matters concerning international studies and study abroad at UNH. Below is the makeup of these governing bodies.

University Committee on International Studies (UCIS)

Purpose: To oversee the IA Dual Major, consult on NH International Seminar series, serve faculty with international interests, and coordinate and lead communication on issues relating to international issues at UNH.  For more information about this committee, read the UCIS membership and policy guidelines.

2016-17 Members (tenure-track faculty, appointed annually, and current instructors in the IA dual major core courses):

Ray Cook - Associate Professor, CEPS
Marc Herold - Associate Professor, Paul College
Smita Lahiri - Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology, COLA
Georgeann Murphy - International Research Coordinator, Hamel Center
Jennifer Purrenhage - Lecturer, COLSA
Tom Safford - Associate Professor, COLA
Maingi Solomon - Lecturer, COLA
Kerryellen Vroman - Associate Professor, CHHS

Committee Chair: Jeannie Sowers, Int'l Affairs Program Chair and Associate Professor, COLA
CIEGE Staff (Beth Kilinc, Gregg Orifici, Katia Sowers)

University Committee on Study Abroad (UCSA)

Purpose: To consider study abroad policies and procedures, evaluate, approve and review all programs, advise on the development of new programs, and serve as an advisory board to the Associate Provost for International Programs on university-wide issues relating to study abroad. For more information about this committee, read the UCSA membership and policy guidelines.

2016-17 Members (appointed on an annual basis in consultation with college deans and other campus leaders):

Kimberley Babbitt - COLSA Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Burt Feintuch - Director of Center for Humanities
Casey Hagelin - Assistant Registrar, Registrar's Office
Jeffrey Halpern - Assistant Professor, CEPS
Dovev Levine - Assistant Dean, Graduate School
Jennifer Logsdon - Academic Counselor, UNHM
Mary Anne Lustgraaf - Director of Memorial Union
James Malley - Professor, CEPS
James Parsons - COLA Study Abroad Coordinator
Dan Sedory - Clinical Associate Professor, CHHS
Daniel Winans - Lecturer, Paul College

Committee Chair: Beth Kilinc, Administrative Director for Education Abroad
CIEGE Staff: (Catherine D'Auteuil, Leo Meijer, Gregg Orifici, Leila Paje-Manalo, Teresa Zellem)
Legal Counsel: Charles Putnam (non-voting member)