The Commission

The mission of the UNH President's Commission on the Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People is to facilitate the development of a university community that is equitable and inclusive of all sexual orientations and gender expressions through advocacy, education, assessment, and activism.

The LGBTQ+ Commission achieves this mission by monitoring the campus climate for gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer faculty, students and staff, reviewing the policies and programs that might affect this community, and advising and assisting the University President, and the Vice President for Community, Equity and Diversity on these issues. The commission also provides education and programs to help encourage an inclusive and equitable climate.

The GLBT Commission was established in 1992 as a Task Force; in 2002, then-President Joan Leitzel authorized the commission. The commission changed its name to UNH Presidetn's Commission on the Status of LGBTQ+People in 2015. The Commission meets monthly during the academic year. It's membership includes gay, lesbian, bisexual, queer, transgender and allied university faculty, students, staff and community members who are appointed by the president and the Associate Vice President of Office of Community, Equity and Diversity.