UNH Faculty Senate

Motion on UCAPC Committee Status


on UCAPC committee status


1.  Motion presenter:   Larry Prelli on behalf of the Agenda Committee

2.  Date of Faculty Senate discussion:   8/27/2012

3.  Rationale: 

The Faculty Senate’s constitution states that “The Faculty Senate will have seven standing committees, each comprised solely of Faculty Senators.”  The constitution then lists those standing committees as the Academic Affairs Committee, the Finance and Administration Committee, the Campus Planning Committee, the Student Affairs Committee, the Research and Public Service Committee, the Library Committee, and the Information Technology Committee.  However, even though UCAPC is a university-wide committee with many members who are not Faculty Senators, senate motion X-M1 on the UCAPC charter revision states that “The UCAPC is a standing committee of the UNH Faculty Senate”.

4.  Motion:

The Faculty Senate moves to modify the 10/31/2005 senate motion X-M1 on UCAPC charter revision to change the first sentence under “Responsibilities of the UCAPC” to “The UCAPC is a permanent committee of the UNH Faculty Senate.”

5.  Senate action:  passed unanimously.

6.  Senate chair’s signature:  Willem deVries

Forwarded to:  President Mark Huddleston, on 9/11/2012

Forwarded to:  Provost John Aber, on 9/11/2012

Forwarded to:  Lisa MacFarlane, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, on 9/11/2012


Click HERE to return to the main Motions page.