UNH Faculty Senate

Motion on Thanks to Professor Fan


Thanks to Professor Steve Fan


1.  Motion presenter:   David Richman

2.  Date of Faculty Senate discussion:  5/5/08

3.  Rationale: 

Professor Stephen Fan, Chair of the Chemical Engineering Department and Chief Negotiator for the UNH-AAUP chapter, is retiring at the end of this semester after forty-seven years of distinguished service to the university community.  He has served as chair of the Chemical Engineering Department for nearly thirty-six years.  In the larger university community, Professor Fan has served as Academic Senate Chair, as president of the UNH-AAUP chapter, and also on a number of important university committees, such as the Grievance Committee and the Scholarships Committee.  For the past eighteen years, Steve has served as chief negotiator of the UNH-AAUP.  He has been a champion of faculty rights and has unselfishly devoted large amounts of his time to ensure that faculty at UNH are justly compensated.  His knowledge and attention to detail during negotiations have been of great benefit to the UNH faculty.  He is thoroughly impartial, fair, and honest and has been a very inspiring leader and a voice of reason, especially during difficult negotiations.

4.  Motion: 

The Faculty Senate recognizes and applauds Professor Fan’s contributions to the university and its community.

5.  Senate action:   passed, unanimously by acclamation

Senate chair’s signature:  William W. Stine

Forwarded to:  President Mark Huddleston, on May 14, 2008

Forwarded to:  Provost Bruce Mallory, on May 14, 2008

Forwarded to:  Professor Steve Fan, on May 14, 2008 


Click HERE to return to the main Motions page.