UNH Faculty Senate

Motion on thanks to Provost Mallory


on thanks to Provost Mallory


1.  Motion presenter:   Paula Salvio

2.  Date of Faculty Senate discussion:  4/27/09

3.   Motion:

As Bruce Mallory prepares to complete his term as provost and to rejoin the faculty, the Faculty Senate wishes to extend its gratitude for a generative, at times provocative, always engaging working relationship.  Though we have had to weather periods of disagreement, Bruce's dedication to the faculty and to the university at large never wavered.  His leadership, integrity and participation in the ongoing conversation that shapes our academic values have been constant.  It is perhaps during the times of difficult differences that we, as a senate, were able to move toward more fully articulating the principles of shared governance that we all so highly value.  Working with Bruce over the last six years, we have accomplished a number of things--the most important being the document on shared governance jointly crafted by the Faculty Senate chair and the provost in 2009. Our mutual understanding of shared governance is far better than it was when Bruce became provost, and the 2009 document will guide practices of shared governance by future generations of administrators and faculty.  The Faculty Senate extends our thanks for his years of service, our congratulations on his achievements and our warmest wishes to Bruce as he ascends to our ranks.

4.  Senate action:  passed with twenty-five ayes, no nays and five abstentions.

5.  Senate chair’s signature:  Marco Dorfsman

Forwarded to:  President Mark Huddleston, on May 6, 2009

Forwarded to:  Provost Bruce Mallory, on May 6, 2009


Click HERE to return to the main Motions page.