UNH Faculty Senate

Sense of the Senate on University Institutes


Sense of the Senate on University Institutes


1.  Motion presenter:   David Richman

2.  Date of Faculty Senate discussion:  11/27/06

3.  Rationale:

Although the Faculty Senate did consult on some aspects of the policy on university institutes and the proposal for EOS to become a formal university institute, neither the University Curriculum and Academic Policies Committee nor the Faculty Senate passed a motion to support their creation.  The Faculty Senate reaffirms its commitment to the principle that the faculty has primary responsibility for curriculum, subject matter, methods of instruction, research, artistry, faculty status, and those aspects of student life which relate to the educational process.  On these matters, the power of review or final decision lodged in the governing board, or delegated by it to the president, or delegated by the president to other administrative officers should be exercised adversely to the reasoned view of the faculty only in exceptional circumstances and for reasons communicated to the faculty.  This principle was violated by the implementation of the Policy on University Institutes and the creation of the formal Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space, without the approval of the Faculty Senate.  However, senators are concerned that EOS or its funds or grants not be affected adversely.  EOS has attempted to follow university policy when preparing its proposal and should have its seat on the deans’ council, but faculty want shared governance on this matter. 

4.  Motion:

It is the sense of the Faculty Senate that the senate chair communicate to the provost that the Faculty Senate would like to peruse for approval the Policy on University Institutes in its entirety and its implementation and that the Faculty Senate will take those items up after the faculty contract is approved and that, until then, the policies will be considered pending.

5.  Senate action:  passed                                              Vote:  with 22 ayes, 5 nays, and 2 abstentions

Senate chair’s signature:  Jeffrey Salloway

Forwarded to:  President Bonnie Newman, on December 13, 2006

 Forwarded to:  Provost Bruce Mallory, on December 13, 2006


Click HERE to return to the main Motions page.