UNH Faculty Senate

Motion on the the senate's response to the Inclusive Excellence Report


on the senate’s response to the Inclusive Excellence Report

1.  Motion presenter:   Willem deVries

2.  Dates of Faculty Senate discussion:   3/19/2012 and 4/2/2012

3.  Rationale:  The Agenda Committee thought that inclusive excellence is a worthwhile principle but that, when we would have to shift financial priorities, we must know what has been done, what successes have been made, what is proposed, and how that will be funded.  The following motion is the senate’s response to the Inclusive Excellence Report.

4.  Motion:

The Faculty Senate endorses the principle of inclusive excellence.

The Faculty Senate resolves that future reports concerning the inclusive excellence initiative (1) provide data showing the extent to which the university climate and curriculum are conducive to inclusive excellence, (2) assess the level of sufficiency of both climate and curriculum in implementing the principle of inclusive excellence, (3) indicate in detail the budgetary resources needed to maintain the current climate and curriculum if sufficient, or (4) frame identifiable and measurable benchmarks for establishing sufficiency, should the status quo climate and curriculum be deemed insufficient, (5) detail specific budgetary resources needed to reach those benchmarks, and (6) assess the extent to which the benchmarks targeted and the methods used in the university’s efforts towards inclusive excellence are pursued in accordance with the principle of shared governance.

The Faculty Senate will appoint or reappoint two faculty members each year to serve as senate representatives on the newly organized University Council for Inclusive Excellence and Equity, with the charges (A) to provide the senate chair and Agenda Committee with annual progress reports, as well as a fifth-year comprehensive report in the 2014-2015 academic year, and (B) to be available to provide summary report presentations to the senate on invitation from the senate.  It is understood that, while these two faculty appointees will be participants in advancing the inclusive excellence initiative, their primary charge is to serve as representatives of the Faculty Senate as a whole.

5.  Senate action:  passed with thirty-four ayes and two abstentions.

6.  Senate chair’s signature:  Larry Prelli

Forwarded to:  President Mark Huddleston, on 5-1-2012

Forwarded to:  Provost John Aber, on 5-1-2012

Forwarded to:  Lisa MacFarlane, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, on 5-1-2012

Forwarded to:  Wanda S. Mitchell, Vice Provost for Faculty Development and Inclusive Excellence, on 5-1-2012


Click HERE to return to the main Motions page.