UNH Faculty Senate

Motion to establish the UNH Discovery Committee


To establish the UNH Discovery Committee


1.  Motion presenter:   David Richman

2.  Date of Faculty Senate discussion:   3/9/09

3.  Rationale:

With the Faculty Senate's passage of the Discovery Program, it is necessary to call into being a committee, composed mostly of faculty, to review and approve courses submitted for the Discovery Program.  Since faculty are primarily responsible for all matters concerning curriculum and academic policy, the faculty members of this committee must be elected by faculty.  The motion is guided by the 2002 report and recommendations of the General Education Study Committee; and the salient passage from that report reads as follows: 

We recommend the creation of a UNH Discovery Program Committee representing faculty from the various schools and colleges as well as appropriate administrative representatives to assure smooth implementation. The Committee would be composed of two representatives from the College of Liberal Arts and one from each of the other Schools and Colleges. Individual committee membership would be for a period of three years. There would be a sequencing of terms to minimize turnover in any given year.  Faculty could serve more than one term. . . . The initial charge for this committee will be to evaluate all courses proposed by academic departments for acceptance into the UNH Discovery Program.

4.  Motion:

The Faculty Senate establishes the UNH Discovery Committee.  This committee consists of two faculty members from COLA and one faculty member each from WSBE, CHHS, CEPS, COLSA, the Library, and UNHM.  Committee members will serve for three-year terms.  There is no limit to the number of consecutive terms any member may serve.  After the first three-year term, subsequent terms will be staggered according to procedures the committee will establish.  The Faculty Senate will administer the election.  Faculty members will be elected by the units they are to represent.  All tenure-track faculty who do not currently hold academic administrative positions are eligible to serve.  Faculty members seeking election may be self-nominated or may be nominated by others.  In addition to these elected faculty members, the committee will include a Faculty Senate representative (who need not be a senator but must be a faculty member) selected by the Faculty Senate.  The committee will also include the following ex-officio members:  the registrar, a representative from the provost's office, a representative from the Honors Program, and the Faculty Director of the Discovery Program.  The committee's initial task is to establish and enact procedures, by which courses submitted for the Discovery Program are to be reviewed.  The committee will take on such other discovery-related tasks as its members deem necessary.  This committee will enjoy the administrative support of the Discovery Office, the administrative director, and the director's staff. The committee will establish and disseminate to the faculty procedures, by which potential Discovery courses are to be reviewed, and criteria upon which judgments will be based.  Though this committee may wish to work closely with the Discovery Program Advisory Committee, with the current General Education Committee, with the Faculty Senate's Academic Affairs Committee, and with the Provost's office, the UNH Discovery Committee will have the final authority in reviewing and approving courses.  The status quo from general education will remain in force unless and until changes are recommended by this newly constituted committee or the Faculty Senate.   


5.  Senate action:  passed with twenty-seven ayes, two nays and seven abstentions.

6.  Senate chair’s signature:  Marco Dorfsman

Forwarded to:  President Mark Huddleston, on March 24, 2009

Forwarded to:  Provost Bruce Mallory, on March 24, 2009

Forwarded to:  Lisa MacFarlane, on March 24, 2009

Forwarded to:  Kathryn Forbes, on March 24, 2009

Forwarded to:  Barbara White, on March 24, 2009


Click HERE to return to the main Motions page.