UNH Faculty Senate

Motion on inclusion of department chairs on steering committees




on inclusion of department chairs on campus construction project steering committees



1.  Motion Presenter:  Tuck Pescosolido, Faculty Senate Campus Planning Committee Chair


2.  Dates of Faculty Senate Discussion: 2/24/2014, 3/17/2014


3.  Rationale: Whereas, there have been recent anecdotal reports of poor communication with faculty regarding moves, construction, and renovation activities; and


Whereas, misunderstanding of changes to the physical campus by faculty or poor understanding of faculty needs will potentially have significant impacts on the suitability of space for educational/research activities; and


Whereas, Department Chairpersons and Directors of other campus entities engage in regular communication with both faculty and College Deans, and are expected to spend time in administrative responsibilities, therefore


4.  Motion:  Let it be resolved that the Faculty Senate calls on the University Administration to ensure that current and future campus construction project steering committees include, as faculty representation, the chairpersons of all affected departments and directors of other affected entities and/or their designees.


5.  Senate action: Motion passed by majority vote.


6.  Senate chair’s signature: Todd A. DeMitchell


Forwarded to:  President Mark Huddleston, on March 25, 2014

                        Provost Lisa MacFarlane, on March 25, 2014

                        P.T. Vasudevan, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, on March 25, 2014

                        College Deans, on March 25, 2014

                        Department Chairs, on March 25, 2014


Click HERE to return to the main Motions page.