Skip to Content Find it Fast

This browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets.

Engaged Scholars

2009 Scholars

Outreach Scholars

The 2009 Class of the UNH Engaged Scholars Academy
Standing left to right: Sterling Tomellini (CEPS), Stacy VanDeveer (COLA), Mica Stark (Carsey Institute), Tuck Pescosolido (WSBE), Brian Krug (Cooperative Extension), Doug Simmons (CHHS), Paul Harvey (WSBE), El-Hachemi Aliouche (WSBE); seated left to right: Erik Hobbie (EOS), Paula Gregory(Cooperative Extension), Sara Cleaves (Office of Sustainability), and Richard Lammers (EOS).

Engaged Scholars Academy graduates fifth class

June 26, 2009

DURHAM, N.H. – The fifth class of the University of New Hampshire’s nationally recognized Engaged Scholars Academy graduated at a ceremony this spring at Holloway Commons on the UNH campus. With 12 new graduates, a total of 72 faculty and extension educators have now participated in the semester-long program since it began in 2004.

Julie E. Williams, Senior Vice Provost for Engagement and Academic Outreach, noted, “The Engaged Scholars Academy has graduated faculty from each of the schools and colleges at UNH. We have developed a multidisciplinary learning community of faculty who have the knowledge and desire to work with external partners around the state and nation.”

The academy is a professional development program in which faculty learn best practices in “engaged scholarship” through workshops, projects with partners, coaching, and by interacting with federal and foundation officers.

By building relationships with community partners, schools, non-profits or businesses outside of UNH – the heart of engaged scholarship – the program provides faculty with tools to effectively engage with external partners and move their own scholarship forward.

UNH has become nationally recognized in this regard and was recently officially classified as a “community engaged” university by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The classification is awarded in recognition of a college or university's exemplary alignment among their mission, culture, leadership, resources, and practices that support dynamic and noteworthy community engagement. The Engaged Scholars Academy and the faculty involved is one reason for this national recognition.

“We are among less than five percent of universities in the nation classified as community engaged by the Carnegie Foundation,” said Cameron Wake, Faculty Director of the academy.

UNH defines community engagement as "a mutually beneficial relationship between the university and external partners for the purpose of generating and applying knowledge directly to benefit the public.”

Wake continued, “We have had an impact nationally as well. UNH’s academy has become a model for how other universities are establishing similar academies and the fact that highly regarded institutions are turning to us for guidance is significant.”

Williams noted that the program’s success can also be measured by “tangible outcomes” such as new courses developed or faculty engagement activities that result in proposals being funded by federal agencies.

The Class of 2009 UNH Outreach Scholars are:

El-Hachemi Aliouche
Associate Professor
Department of Hospitality Management

Sara Cleaves
Associate Director
Office of Sustainability

Paula Gregory
Extension Specialist
4-H Youth & Families/Cooperative Extension

Paul Harvey
Assistant Professor
Department of Management

Erik Hobbie
Research Associate Professor
Complex Systems Research Center/EOS

Brian Krug
Extension Specialist
Floriculture/Cooperative Extension

Richard Lammers
Research Assistant Professor
Complex Systems Research Center/EOS

Anthony (Tuck) Pescosolido
Associate Professor
Department of Management

Doug Simmons
Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy

Mica Stark
Engagement & Outreach Director
Carsey Institute

Sterling Tomellini
Department of Chemistry

Stacy VanDeveer
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science