Parsons Rededication, May 31, 2013

The renovatioMr. and Mrs. Turnbull and Dean Mukasan of Parsons Hall was celebrated on May 31 with a daylong symposium that was attended by 200 alumni and friends.  The morning’s activities included reminiscences by five alumni (Mark Turnbull, Mary Kirchhoff, James Mack, Tim Pifer, and Simon North), who related stories of Parsons Hall and the training they received while students in the Department of Chemistry. 

After a lunch in the courtyard, Dean Sam Mukasa and UNH President Mark Huddleston spoke on the importance of Parsons Hall to the future of UNH.  Robert Caret (Ph.D. 1974), President of the University of Massachusetts, provided an inspiring talk about the role that educators play in developing the scientists and leaders of the future.  The history ofProfessor Grant the Parsons Hall renovation project was related by Chairman Chuck Zercher, and then Professor Emeritus Tiny Grant wrapped up the program with a historical perspective on the role Parsons Hall has played in the development and growth of the Chemistry Department.

The newly renovated building is spectacular and the requirements for a modern science building were beautifully captured in the design and construction.  The exterior of the building was largely unchanged, but the interior has been completely reworked.  Visitors may not recognize the same Parsons Hall that they once knew; however, we are confident that the educational culture that permeated the pre-renovated Parsons Hall will continue to exist in the renovated labs and classrooms.  We encourage all of you to come and visit us when you get the chance.

newl lab

LaMattina Lecture Series: Andrew Teplyakov

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Delaware


April 24, 2014
11:10 a.m.
Parsons N104, Iddles Auditorium

"Chemical Pathways for Surface Functionalization: From Molecular Layers to Surface-'Stapled' Nanostructures to Functional Materials"


Alumni Paul Anderson Receives 2013 Carothers Award

Paul AndersonPaul Anderson was named the recipient of the 2013 Carothers Award by the Delaware section of the American Chemical Society.  The Wallace H. Carothers Award was established by the Delaware section of the ACS as a memorial to Wallace H. Carothers, who was one of the founders of modern polymer chemistry.  The purpose of the award is to honor innovators who have made noteworthy contributions in the industrial application of chemistry.   
Dr. Anderson received his B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Vermont in 1959 and his Ph.D. with Bob Lyle at UNH in 1963.  After post-doctoral research with Professor Meinwald at Cornell, he joined Merck Sharp and Dohme, where he eventually became Vice President for Chemistry. Dr. Anderson led research efforts in the development of numerous groundbreaking pharmaceuticals, including simvastatin and ZOCOR.  Under his leadership significant advances in the treatment of HIV infections were accomplished through the synthesis of inhibitors of HIV-reverse transcriptase and HIV protease.